“Are you training for something?”

strengthistheglass

Today while putting up my weights after a decent deadlift session, I once again was asked the one question that I get more than any other while lifting in a commercial gym, “Are you training for something?” This completely innocuous question never bothers me, but it always takes me by surprise. I never used to get asked this when I was at my hunk of junk heaven, probably because pretty much everyone else there was doing the same thing. That and most of the communication there was done through grunts and man nods. The answer is always “nope, just trying to get stronger.”  But when I reflect on it later, or at least after this particular session, I realize that I am absolutely training for something. And it’s just that, training to get stronger.

I can understand why from a normal non-lifters point of view that it probably does look like I’m training for…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

